The Inspired Heart

Captured by the Beauty of God

Do You Smell That?

on April 6, 2013

photo

My favorite place is by the ocean, it immediately soothes my soul and every muscle begins to relax.  This weekend I had an invitation to join friends on a getaway.  We arrived at a cute hotel at the end of a jetty surrounded by the ocean! My next favorite thing is to have a balcony, and guess what, oh yes indeed!

That just made my weekend! Me, Jesus, my coffee, Bible, the balcony and the ocean! This is my idea of heaven on earth! 

We rush in, check it all out, we are all giddy with glee…I guess they thought I was going to share the balcony! We lugged EVERYTHING up the stairs, we are girls!  From inside we could see through the large glass doors that beauty lie waiting patiently, for our viewing pleasure, just on the other side of those doors.

The sunlight was twinkling and teasing us as it danced upon the ripples of the water.  The palm trees were swaying to the tune of the breezes blowing in rhythm with the ebb and flow of the waves. And the sound of the those waves were beckoning us to come.

Once settled, out to the balcony we went, yes, I decided to share. We had great anticipation of ocean breezes, fresh sea air, the fragrance that only is found by the seaside. 

We settled into our deck chairs and the glory of the moment was quickly overshadowed.  The beauty around us was suddenly a distant memory as we began to cough and choke. One of the girls had to quickly go inside.  Below us were a bevy of smokers and the beautiful breezes that caressed the sea and the trees also elevated the cigarette smoke of the crew below us onto our coveted balcony!

The mood quickly changed, the focus was now on the stench, the discomfort, and the odor.  No longer were we able to enjoy what we thought was this incredible gift of beauty and freshness.  For some this may not affect you the same way, but for two of us, it actually made us ill.

It reminded me of a verse in the Bible that has always stirred me.

2Corinthians 2:14-16 (The Message)

In the Messiah, in Christ, God leads us from place to place in one perpetual victory parade. Through us, he brings knowledge of Christ. Everywhere we go, people breathe in the exquisite fragrance. Because of Christ, we give off a sweet scent rising to God, which is recognized by those on the way of salvation—an aroma redolent with life.

I realized that smell is a powerful thing! It can lift us, soothe us, and relax us, or it can be a stench that sickens us. 

As one who loves Jesus, I am to be an “exquisite fragrance” for people to breathe inAs they breathe in this fragrance that comes from my love and knowledge of the Lord, they are drawn out onto the balcony of God’s beauty and grace.

My fragrance should be inviting, calling, wooing, and reflecting what lies ahead for those who will walk out onto the balcony to take in the glory and vastness of the Lord.  I am not to bring them to a vantage point of God, only to leave them confused, distracted, and sickened because I am actually not what I appear, but a stench that taints their ability to see God.

As this passage says, it is through US that he brings the knowledge of Christ.  If we are truly enjoying our love relationship with Christ, His sweet scent will flow through us and rise up to God. 

This rich fragrance is LIFE and will become a saving addiction to the one who embraces it.

Lord,  Thank you that Jesus is sweet and fragrant with love and mercy.  Thank you that because of your presence within us, we too can have the exquisite fragrance of Christ wafting from our lives, leading others to get a balcony view of Your beauty.  Reveal in us anything that would be a stench, causing distraction, sickening, and taint the glory of who You are to others.  Give us opportunities to breathe in your sweet love, to receive it for ourselves with an understanding of the saving grace you have lavished upon us who Believe.  May we then, in turn, share this precious fragrant gift of selfless, sacrificial love to the world, and represent you in the fullness of your glory.

For Your Names Sake…Amen!


One response to “Do You Smell That?

  1. Debbie says:

    Amazing! Just this morning I was out on my patio enjoying the fragrance of early morning and praising God for His beauty then my neighbor came out on their patio and guess what? Yep, they smoke and the smell instantly changed….and so did my attitude about the day. Thanks for this reminder that I need to be a sweet fragrance as a daughter of the King and that He loves us all, stench and all.

Leave a comment

To Be a Widow

A Personal Journey through Grief and Rediscovery

"All Things"

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Phil 4:13

Writings of a Mrs

I write, blog, vlog and poet...I wander, I ponder and I recollect ...DIGITAL NOMAD & PHILOSOPHER

www.aholyexperience.com/

Just another WordPress.com site

Jacque Watkins

finding grace through the mud

The Inspired Heart

Captured by the Beauty of God